With a record-breaking seventh Ballon d

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Ballon d'Or five times

trailing Lionel Messi's record seven wins. 

The FIFA World Cup winner won his eighth trophy on Monday

the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris

 adding another trophy to his collection.

Messi finished 240 points ahead of last year's winner Cristiano Ronaldo

Since 1956, men have been the recipients of the Ballon d'Or

which is presented by France Football magazine.