Ballon d'Or 2023: Lionel Messi reigns supreme once more

Lionel Messi, the captain of Argentina

 won a record-breaking eighth Ballon d'Or on Monday,

defeating Erling Haaland of Manchester City

the winner of the treble and UEFA Player of the Year from Norway

 the top scorer in Europe with 56 goals last season.

Messi of Inter Miami

who last took home the trophy in 2021,

the final three Ballons d'Or from rival Cristiano Ronaldo in 2017